Car loan or leasing: what to choose?

6 June 2022
Car loan leasing luxembourg what to choose

Do you want a new car in Luxembourg but are hesitating between a loan or a lease? We can help you find the right solution!

In Luxembourg, there are many rental offers. Most companies also offer discounted long-term rental for their employees. But the car loan also offers very interesting advantagesIn particular from a fiscal point of view. The best solution will depend on your wishes and your travel habits.

Car loans in Luxembourg

What is a car loan?

A car loan is a loan that is intended for the purchase of a new car. It is a loan that you take out with your bank over a period of 1 to 5 years. The bank will release a sum of money for you to buy the car, and you will have to make monthly repayments.

Here are the advantages of a car loan:

  • You are the owner of the vehicle (it is fully yours)
  • Your mileage is unlimited: you can drive as much as you like, as the car is yours
  • You will have to pay all costs vehicle-related (maintenance, tyre changes, replacement of parts, technical inspection, etc.)
  • You can deduct the interest on the car loan from your Luxembourg tax return You can thus recover several hundred euros per year and reduce the cost of your credit. On the other hand, the deductible costs are subject to a ceiling of €672 per year, and they must be added to the civil liability costs of your car and home insurance, which are also deductible.

Should I take out a loan to buy a new car?

A car loan is an excellent solution if you drive a lot and exceed 15,000km per year (as this is usually the package included in long-term rental contracts).

You may be in this situation if :

  • You commute to work every day
  • You are a borderer (France, Belgium, Germany) and work in Luxembourg
  • You drive a lot of miles when you go on holiday

In view of the current situation and the chip shortage weighing on new vehicle productionIf you have a car, you may have to buy a second-hand car. In this case, you will have to take out a loan.

Finally, you should know that buying a car is particularly suitable for people who do not particularly need to change their vehicle often. If, on the other hand, you like to change your car every 2 or 3 years, you should opt for a lease.

How much does a car loan cost in Luxembourg?

In Luxembourg, all banks offer car loans, but their rates vary greatly. There are different parameters that come into play when you want to find the cheapest loan:

  • The interest rate of the loan : It defines the rate at which the bank earns interest, and therefore the margin you will have to pay on top of the loan repayment. This amount is added to your monthly payments.
  • Bank fees : Some banks offer these fees when you take out a loan. Make sure you check with your bank advisor.
  • The cost of loan insurance : you will have to insure your loan in case you cannot pay it back. This rate is usually included in the overall loan rate displayed on bank websites, but this is not always the case. Make sure that the cost of insurance is included in the bank's offer, as this could affect your rate comparison.

The best rate for your car loan

Compare all loan offers for your next vehicle.
See the offers
car registration luxembourg - car registration application personalized number

Leasing in Luxembourg

What is a long-term rental?

Leasing is a contract for the rental of a car. Unlike a car loan, you are not the owner of the vehicle: you sign a lease contract that gives you the right to use the vehicle for a fixed period of time.

  • You will be renting the vehicle for a specific period of time
  • You must return it after 2 to 5 years, depending on your contract
  • You will need to provide a financial contribution corresponding to approximately 15% of the total cost of the lease when the contract is signed. Car leasing offers with no deposit are quite rare.
  • Your mileage will be limited (usually between 10,000km and 15,000km per year). You will have to pay for each additional kilometre at a pre-determined rate (usually a few cents per kilometre, but the bill can rise quickly!). Some companies, however, offer to pay a higher mileage in advance, but this will be quite expensive. After 15,000 km per year, the car loses more value than its 'normal' wear and tear, so the rental company will have to sell it for less at the end of the lease. They will charge you for the difference for every kilometre over the 15,000km per year.
  • You can change your vehicle at the end of your contract to a new one
  • All vehicle maintenance costs will be included depending on the package you choose at the time of subscription (garage, change of winter/summer tyres, replacement of parts, technical inspection, etc).

However, at the end of the contract you must return the car in perfect condition. You may be charged for any damage to the bodywork or interior of the vehicle. However, you have the option of buying the car back at the end of your lease.

In what situation should I rent my car?

Long-term rental is an interesting choice if :

  • You drive less than 15,000km per year
  • Your commute is fairly short (i.e. if you are not a French, Belgian or German borderer)
  • You want all your maintenance and repair costs to be covered
  • You like to test the new car models (Tesla, BMW, Audi, Mercedes, Porsche...) regularly.

However, this option will cost you more than a loan. The companies that offer long-term rental in Luxembourg make a profit on this activity. They therefore pass on their margin on each rental contract. And this margin is generally higher than the rate for a loan taken out with a Luxembourg bank.

How much does leasing cost?

The price of a long-term rental varies greatly depending on the demand, the car model and the duration chosen. For example, Tesla rentals will be quite expensive, as there are few models available and they are in high demand in Luxembourg.

At the time of writing, for example, there are almost 700 per month to lease a Tesla Model Y over 4 yearswith 15000km included.

Where to lease in Luxembourg?

There are two options, depending on your situation:

  • If you are an employee of a large company, chances are that your employer has a agreement with a leasing company for the purpose of business leasing. You can then benefit from discounts on your car rental. Contact the human resources department and ask them if such a partnership exists.
  • If your employer does not offer a special discount, then you can use private leasing. There are many such companies in Luxembourg. We advise you to compare them carefully to make sure you pay the lowest possible price for your vehicle. You can, for example, consult the offers available on Leasplan or LeasingPrive.

Electric car: car loan or leasing?

The electric car is becoming more and more popular in Luxembourg: there are more charging points to recharge your vehicle, and a bonus of €8,000 makes it easy to finance your new Tesla, Hyundai or BMW.

Nevertheless, the electric car is a very special case: the technology is evolving very quickly, the batteries are improving and the range is increasing every year. It is therefore tempting to ask whether it is worth buying an electric car, or whether it is better to lease it while waiting for a better model.

  • If you buy your car with a loan: you will have full ownership of it. You will have to maintain it. But you will also have benefited fully from the €8,000 ecological bonus and the car will belong to you.
  • If you rent your electric vehicle : the leasing company will deduct your €8,000 environmental bonus from the cost of your lease. The car will therefore be cheaper to lease. But be careful: this ecological bonus is only valid once! This means that after your lease, you will no longer be able to benefit from the subsidy. If you decide to buy an electric car after your lease, you will not receive any financial support from the government.

In the particular case of electric cars, we recommend buying a model that is a safe bet (such as a Tesla Model 3, Tesla Model Y, Audi e-Tron, or BMW i3).

The innovation lies mainly in the software of the on-board computers which are regularly updated by the car manufacturers. And if one day a new battery technology makes it possible to reach exceptional autonomies (such as 1500km), the manufacturers will surely offer you a replacement for your vehicle's battery.

However, if you are not sure of your choice, we advise you to rent your electric car. This way you can discover this new way of driving without pressure or constraints. On the other hand, you will no longer be able to claim your €8,000 environmental bonus.

So think carefully before making your choice!

Conclusion

In conclusion, the car loan is preferable if you drive more than 15,000 km per year and you intend to keep your car for several years. It is compulsory if you buy a second-hand car, as leasing companies mainly offer new models.

On the other hand, If you don't drive much and want to drive new cars every 3 to 5 years, lease your car. You will not have to pay any maintenance costs, but you will have to pay higher monthly payments than with a car loan. The advantage is that you can buy the car back at the end of the lease period - for a small additional fee.

You may be interested in these articles

2 June 2022
Charging your electric car in Luxembourg: the complete guide

Looking to look at your Tesla, Porsche, Volkswagen, BMW or Hyundai in Luxembourg? Charging stations, power, price... We explain it all to you!

Read the article
28 May 2022
Getting a license plate number for your car in Luxembourg

Would you like to obtain a Luxembourg number plate? :). Here is everything you need to know.

Read the article
crossmenuchevron-down

Autokredit oder Leasing: Was soll man wählen?

6. Juni 2022
Autokredit leasing luxemburg was wählen
Inhaltsverzeichnis
Primary Item (H2)

Sie wollen ein neues Auto in Luxemburg, sind sich aber nicht sicher, ob Sie es leihen oder leasen sollen? Wir helfen Ihnen, Klarheit zu schaffen!

In Luxemburg gibt es zahlreiche Leasingangebote. Die meisten Unternehmen bieten auch vergünstigte Langzeitmietangebote für ihre Mitarbeiter an. Aber der Autokredit bietet auch sehr interessante Vorteileinsbesondere aus steuerlicher Sicht. Die beste Lösung hängt von Ihren Wünschen und Reisegewohnheiten ab.

Autokredit in Luxemburg

Was ist ein Autokredit?

Ein Autokredit ist ein Darlehen, das für den Kauf eines neuen Autos bestimmt ist. Es ist ein Darlehen, das Sie bei Ihrer Bank über einen Zeitraum von 1 bis 5 Jahren aufnehmen. Die Bank stellt einen Betrag zur Verfügung, mit dem Sie das Fahrzeug kaufen können, und Sie müssen monatliche Raten zurückzahlen.

Hier sind die Vorteile eines Autokredits :

  • Sie sind Eigentümer des Fahrzeugs (es gehört voll und ganz Ihnen)
  • Ihre Kilometerzahl ist unbegrenzt : Sie können so viel fahren, wie Sie wollen, da das Auto Ihnen gehört
  • Sie müssen alle Kosten tragen im Zusammenhang mit dem Fahrzeug (Wartung, Reifenwechsel, Ersatz von Teilen, technische Kontrolle usw.).
  • Sie können die Zinsen für den Autokredit in Ihrer luxemburgischen Steuererklärung absetzen. : So können Sie mehrere hundert Euro pro Jahr zurückbekommen und die Kosten für Ihren Kredit senken. Für die absetzbaren Kosten gilt jedoch eine Obergrenze von 672€ pro Jahr. Sie sind mit den Haftpflichtkosten Ihrer Auto- und Hausratversicherung zu kumulieren, die ebenfalls absetzbar sind.

Sollte man einen Kredit aufnehmen, um ein neues Auto zu kaufen?

Ein Autokredit ist eine hervorragende Lösung, wenn Sie viel fahren und mehr als 15.000 km pro Jahr zurücklegen (denn das ist in der Regel die in Langzeitmietverträgen enthaltene Pauschale).

Sie können in dieser Situation sein, wenn :

  • Sie pendeln zwischen Wohnung und Arbeitsplatz jeden Tag
  • Sie sind Grenzgänger (Frankreich, Belgien, Deutschland) und arbeiten in Luxemburg
  • Sie legen viele Kilometer zurück wenn Sie in den Urlaub fahren

Angesichts der aktuellen Konjunktur und der Mangel an Chips, der die Produktion von Neufahrzeugen belastetWenn Sie ein Auto kaufen möchten, kann es sein, dass Sie einen Gebrauchtwagen kaufen müssen. In diesem Fall müssen Sie einen Kredit aufnehmen.

Schließlich sollten Sie wissen, dass der Kauf eines Autos besonders für Personen geeignet ist, die nicht besonders häufig das Fahrzeug wechseln müssen. Wenn Sie hingegen gerne alle zwei oder drei Jahre ein neues Auto kaufen, sollten Sie sich eher für ein Leasing entscheiden.

Wie viel kostet ein Autokredit in Luxemburg?

In Luxemburg bieten alle Banken Autokredite an, aber die Zinssätze variieren stark. Es gibt verschiedene Parameter, die eine Rolle spielen, wenn Sie den günstigsten Kredit finden wollen:

  • Der Zinssatz des Darlehens : Er legt den Zinssatz fest, zu dem die Bank verzinst wird, und damit auch die Marge, die Sie zusätzlich zur Rückzahlung des Darlehens zahlen müssen. Dieser Betrag wird zu Ihren monatlichen Raten hinzugefügt.
  • Bankbearbeitungsgebühren : Einige Banken bieten diese Gebühren an, wenn Sie einen Kredit aufnehmen. Denken Sie daran, sich bei Ihrem Bankberater darüber zu informieren.
  • Die Kosten der Kreditversicherung : müssen Sie Ihr Darlehen für den Fall versichern, dass Sie es nicht mehr zurückzahlen können. Dieser Satz ist normalerweise im Gesamtzinssatz des Darlehens enthalten, der auf den Websites der Banken angezeigt wird, aber das ist nicht immer der Fall. Denken Sie daran, sich zu vergewissern, dass die Versicherungskosten im Angebot der Bank enthalten sind, denn das könnte Ihren Zinsvergleich.

Der beste Zinssatz für Ihren Autokredit

Vergleichen Sie alle Darlehensangebote für Ihr nächstes Fahrzeug.
Zu den Angeboten
immatriculer un voiture luxembourg - demande immatriculation véhicule numéro personnalisé

Leasing in Luxemburg

Was ist eine Langzeitmiete?

Leasing ist ein Vertrag, der dem Mieten eines Autos gewidmet ist. Im Gegensatz zum Autokredit sind Sie nicht Eigentümer des Fahrzeugs: Sie schließen einen Mietvertrag ab, der Ihnen das Recht gibt, das Fahrzeug für eine bestimmte Zeit zu nutzen.

  • Sie werden Mieter des Fahrzeugs für eine bestimmte Zeit
  • Sie müssen es zurückgeben nach 2 bis 5 Jahren, abhängig von Ihrem Vertrag
  • Sie müssen einen Finanzieller Beitrag, der etwa 15% entspricht der Gesamtkosten des Leasingvertrags bei Vertragsunterzeichnung. Angebote für Autoleasing ohne Einlage sind eher selten.
  • Ihre Kilometerzahl wird begrenzt (normalerweise zwischen 10000km und 15000km pro Jahr). Sie müssen jeden zusätzlichen Kilometer zu einem im Voraus festgelegten Preis bezahlen (normalerweise ein paar Cent pro Kilometer, aber die Rechnung kann schnell steigen!) Einige Unternehmen bieten jedoch an, eine höhere Kilometerzahl im Voraus zu bezahlen, aber das wird ziemlich teuer. Denn bei mehr als 15.000 km pro Jahr verliert das Auto mehr an Wert als durch "normalen" Verschleiß: Die Autovermietung muss es also am Ende des Mietvertrags billiger verkaufen. Sie wird Ihnen also diese Differenz für jeden Kilometer, der über die Pauschale von 15000km pro Jahr hinausgeht, zusätzlich in Rechnung stellen.
  • Sie können am Ende der Vertragslaufzeit in ein neues Fahrzeug wechseln.
  • Alle Kosten für die Wartung des Fahrzeugs werden eingeschlossen je nachdem, welches Paket Sie bei Vertragsabschluss wählen (Werkstatt, Wechsel von Winter-/Sommerreifen, Ersatz von Teilen, technische Kontrolle usw.).

Am Ende des Vertrags müssen Sie das Auto jedoch in einem einwandfreien Zustand zurückgeben. Jeder Schaden an der Karosserie oder im Innenraum des Fahrzeugs kann Ihnen in Rechnung gestellt werden. Sie haben jedoch die Möglichkeit, das Fahrzeug am Ende der Leasingdauer zu kaufen.

In welcher Situation sollte man sein Fahrzeug mieten?

Langzeitmiete ist eine interessante Wahl, wenn :

  • Sie fahren weniger als 15000 km pro Jahr
  • Ihr Arbeitsweg ist recht kurz (also wenn Sie kein französischer, belgischer oder deutscher Grenzgänger sind).
  • Sie möchten, dass alle Ihre Wartungs- und Reparaturkosten übernommen werden
  • Sie testen gerne neue Automodelle (Tesla, BMW, Audi, Mercedes, Porsche...) regelmäßig.

Andererseits kostet Sie diese Option mehr als ein Darlehen. Die Unternehmen, die in Luxemburg Langzeitleasing anbieten, erzielen mit dieser Tätigkeit einen Gewinn. Sie geben daher ihre Marge auf jeden Leasingvertrag weiter. Diese Marge ist in der Regel höher als der Zinssatz für ein Darlehen bei einer luxemburgischen Bank.

Wie viel kostet ein Leasing?

Der Preis für eine Langzeitmiete variiert stark je nach Nachfrage, Automodell und gewählter Laufzeit. Beispielsweise wird die Anmietung eines Teslas recht teuer sein, da es nur wenige Modelle gibt und diese in Luxemburg sehr gefragt sind.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Erstellung dieser Zeilen sind zum Beispiel fast 700€ pro Monat, um ein Tesla Model Y über 4 Jahre zu mietenmit 15000km inklusive.

Wo kann man in Luxemburg leasen?

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten, je nach Ihrer Situation:

  • Wenn Sie in einem großen Unternehmen beschäftigt sind, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass Ihr Arbeitgeber einen Vereinbarung mit einer Leasinggesellschaft, zum Zwecke des professionellen Leasings. Sie können dann von Rabatten bei der Anmietung Ihres Autos profitieren. Gehen Sie auf die Personalabteilung zu und fragen Sie, ob es eine solche Partnerschaft gibt.
  • Wenn Ihr Arbeitgeber keine besondere Ermäßigung anbietet, in diesem Fall können Sie über Unternehmen von Privatleasing. In Luxemburg gibt es viele davon. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sie gut zu vergleichen, um sicherzustellen, dass Sie für Ihr Fahrzeug so wenig wie möglich bezahlen. Sie können sich zum Beispiel die Angebote auf Leasplan oder LeasingPrive.

Elektroauto: Autokredit oder Leasing?

Elektroautos werden in Luxemburg immer beliebter: Es gibt mehr Ladestationen, an denen man sein Fahrzeug aufladen kann, und einen Bonus von 8000€ ermöglicht es Ihnen, Ihren neuen Tesla, Hyundai oder BMW einfach zu finanzieren.

Dennoch ist das Elektroauto ein ganz besonderer Fall: Die Technologie entwickelt sich sehr schnell, die Batterien werden immer besser und die Reichweite steigt jedes Jahr. Daher kann man versucht sein, sich zu fragen, ob es sich lohnt, ein Elektrofahrzeug zu kaufen, oder ob es besser ist, es zu leasen, während man auf ein besseres Modell wartet.

  • Wenn Sie Ihr Auto mit einem Kredit kaufen : sind Sie der volle Eigentümer. Sie müssen sich um die Instandhaltung kümmern. Sie haben aber auch die Umweltprämie von 8000 € in Anspruch genommen und das Auto gehört Ihnen.
  • Wenn Sie Ihr Elektrofahrzeug leasen : die Leasinggesellschaft zieht Ihren Umweltbonus von 8000€ von den Kosten des Leasingvertrags ab. Das Auto wird also billiger zu leasen sein. Aber Achtung: Dieser Umweltbonus ist nur einmal gültig! Das bedeutet, dass Sie nach Ihrer Miete nicht mehr von der Subvention profitieren können. Sollten Sie sich nach Ihrem Mietvertrag jemals dazu entschließen, ein Elektroauto zu kaufen, erhalten Sie keine finanzielle Unterstützung von der Regierung.

Für den speziellen Fall eines Elektroautos empfehlen wir, ein Modell zu kaufen, das ein sicherer Wert ist (z. B. ein Tesla Model 3, ein Tesla Model Y, ein Audi e-Tron oder ein BMW i3).

Die Innovation liegt vor allem in der Software der Bordcomputer, die von den Fahrzeugherstellern regelmäßig aktualisiert wird. Und wenn eines Tages eine neue Batterietechnologie außergewöhnliche Reichweiten (wie 1500 km) ermöglicht, werden Ihnen die Hersteller sicherlich anbieten, die Batterie Ihres Fahrzeugs zu ersetzen.

Wenn Sie sich jedoch nicht sicher sind, empfehlen wir Ihnen, Ihr Elektroauto zu mieten. So können Sie diese neue Art des Fahrens ohne Druck und Einschränkungen kennenlernen. Im Gegensatz dazu können Sie Ihren Umweltbonus von 8000€ nicht mehr in Anspruch nehmen.

Überlegen Sie also gut, bevor Sie Ihre Wahl treffen!

Schlussfolgerung

Zum Schluss, ein Autokredit ist zu bevorzugen, wenn Sie mehr als 15.000 km pro Jahr fahren und Sie Ihr Fahrzeug mehrere Jahre lang behalten wollen. Er ist obligatorisch, wenn Sie einen Gebrauchtwagen kaufen, da die Langzeitmietfirmen hauptsächlich neue Modelle anbieten.

Im Gegensatz dazu wenn Sie relativ wenig fahren und alle drei bis fünf Jahre neue Autos fahren möchten, entscheiden Sie sich für ein Autoleasing. Sie müssen keine Unterhaltskosten zahlen, aber Sie müssen höhere monatliche Raten zahlen als bei einem Autokredit. Der Vorteil ist, dass Sie das Fahrzeug am Ende des Leasingzeitraums zurückkaufen können: gegen eine geringe Zusatzgebühr.

Diese Artikel könnten Sie interessieren

2. Juni 2022
Aufladen des Elektroautos in Luxemburg: der vollständige Leitfaden

Sie suchen nach einem Blick auf Ihren Tesla, Porsche, Volkswagen, BMW oder Hyundai in Luxemburg? Ladestationen, Leistung, Preise... Wir erklären Ihnen alles!

Artikel lesen
28. Mai 2022
Ein Auto in Luxemburg anmelden: Der Leitfaden, Schritt für Schritt

Sie möchten ein luxemburgisches Nummernschild erhalten? :). Hier ist alles, was Sie wissen müssen.

Artikel lesen
crossMenüchevron-down