Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Who is Switchr.lu? What is the methodology used for the comparisons?
Here are the answers to all your questions!

Why compare offers in Luxembourg?

Whether it's internet, mobile phone, energy contracts, banking or insurance: everything has to be compared! Even though there are only a few providers in Luxembourg, there can be big differences between their offers. So comparing offers allows you to find the best service, the cheapest service, or the best value for money.

Also, most Luxembourg contracts have a 12 to 24 month commitment. It is therefore wise to compare them carefully before signing.

Who is Switchr.lu?

Switchr.lu is a blog run by individuals who are passionate about Luxembourg. We moved here a few years ago and had a hard time finding the right service providers. We have since developed an objective analysis method for each service. Today, we would like to share our selections on this blog, in order to help those who are moving to Luxembourg to do so in the best possible conditions.

What criteria do you use to make your comparisons?

Our general philosophy: independence and neutrality

We evaluate tenders on the same basis, in an impartial manner. We are not paid and have no financial ties with the selected companies: this guarantees neutrality and independence in our selections.

Methodology of the selections

For each selection, our evaluation is based on objective criteria, of which price is one. Our analysis method takes into account two main criteria:

  1. The quantity or level of features/services offered in the offer, for the same range of offers (e.g. download speed offered, mobile data volume, credit rate offered, number of guarantees offered, etc). These criteria are factual and objective.
  2. The price of the offer for the same range of offers. By "ranges of offers" we mean offers of a similar price and service level (e.g. an expensive home insurance policy with many guarantees will be compared with equivalent offers in price and number of guarantees). These criteria are also factual and objective.

The calculation method is defined in advance and has been subject to numerous tests and adjustments for each service. It is the same for all offers of the same service (bank account, mobile phone package, electricity contract, internet subscription, car insurance, etc).

In our selections, we only take into account objective elements publicly presented by the suppliers' commercial offersThis is not subjective information, such as opinions, comments or feedback from customers.

This ensures an objective comparison of the value for money of each offer, in accordance with the regulatory requirements in force.

Offer selections

Our analysis establishes a selection of three offers per heading.

In the interests of fairness, we offer several thematic selections. Thus, for most services, you will find for example the following selections of offers:

  1. "Top': A selection of offers with the best value for money between the features/services offered and the price of the offer.
  2. "Eco': A selection of the cheapest offers for a basic service.
  3. "Premium : A selection of offers presenting a complete range of services at the best price.

Other types of thematic selections may exist depending on the particularities of each service.

These thematic selections have two virtues:

  1. They allow to meet the different needs of users (some are looking for savings, others are looking for the most complete offer, or the best value for money)
  2. They make it possible to represent a maximum number of service providers in Luxembourg, as some providers are specialised in certain market segments (Premium, cheap offers, etc).

Special features: car and home insurance

To determine the selection of car and home insurance offers, we take into account :

  1. The number of essential or basic guarantees proposed for each contract (these guarantees are present in the majority of insurance contracts in Luxembourg)
  2. The number of additional and differentiating guarantees offered in each contract (these are the communicated guarantees that stand out from the majority of offers on the market)
  3. The price of the contract for the same property and the same policyholder profile, which makes it possible to identify the insurance company's pricing position for a type of contract.

This calculation method is unique for each type of contract (car, home).

Also, to help the user to better understand and compare insurance in the face of the large number of coverages offered, we add the following mentions to the offer selections:

  • For car insurance, the "Essential Cover". Guarantees: this is a set of guarantees that we, as Luxembourg consumers, consider essential for car insurance in Luxembourg. The details of these guarantees are specified at the bottom of each section. This set of guarantees is included in the majority of insurance contracts in Luxembourg, which allows us to define it as "essential".
  • For all insurances, the "Advantages", also indicated by the mention "Super Extras". Some insurances include a significant number of specific additional coverages that differentiate them from the competition. We indicate the presence of this difference by the mention "Super Extras" on the offers concerned. The coverages in question can be found in the "Benefits" section of each offer.

However, as the price of insurance depends strongly on the nature of the property to be insured, it is important to note that the price of insurance is not the same as that of the property itself, we do not give any price indication. We only display a non-exhaustive list of the coverages publicly presented by insurance companies on their website or in their commercial brochures. On each page, we recommend that the user makes several quotes from insurance companies in order to make the best choice according to his/her situation and priorities (coverage, budget).

Note that the selection of insurance contracts may change in response to commercial changes in insurance offers. It may also change in case of adjustments in the analysis method.

Finally, we invite insurance companies to notify us of any updates to their commercial offers at switchr.lu@gmail.comThis will allow us to quickly update our selection of offers.

What are the selection criteria for bids?

We select offers according to a calculation method based on objective criteria, including price. The selected offers are different according to the selections and the headings (best value for money, cheapest offer, most complete offer at a reasonable price, etc).

For each offer, we take into account the following elements

  • For Internet offers : download speed, upload speed, subscription price, additional costs (modem, installation) and a possible price promotion.
  • For Internet and TV offers : download speed, upload speed, number of channels offered, number of hours of recording time, subscription price, additional costs (modem, installation) and a possible price promotion.
  • For mobile package offers : the volume of calls in Luxembourg and abroad, the volume of data in Luxembourg and abroad, the price of the subscription and a possible tariff promotion.
  • For bank account offers : account maintenance fees, bank card fees, fees for transfers to external accounts, fees for withdrawals from external ATMs, overdraft interest and overdraft commissions.
  • For credit offers (car, consumer, works) : the interest rate (APR) offered.
  • For electricity contract offers : the price per kWh of electricity
  • For gas contract offers : the price per m³ of gas
  • For car insurance offers : the presence of "Essential Coverages", any differentiating guarantees included in the contract, the price of the insurance for the same property
  • For home insurance offers : the presence of the most common guarantees for a home insurance offer, any additional differentiating guarantees included in the contract, the price of the insurance for the same property

Do you compare all the offers on the market?

For practical reasons, This site is not exhaustive and is not intended to be comprehensive: we only propose a selection of offers available in Luxembourg. This non-exhaustive aspect is indicated at the top of each heading or table by the word "selection". We choose offers provided by companies that have many customers in Luxembourg, which is generally a guarantee of the seriousness and solidity of the company.

However, there are other suppliers than those represented in these selections. It is our ambition to include them in our selections over time - depending on our resources and development.

It is also possible that some offers on the site may be unavailable for a period of several hours to several days for maintenance, updating or modification of the information presented.

Finally, due to the lack of APIs offered by providers in Luxembourg, offers are not updated in real time Update time: There is a time lag for updating information, which varies from offer to offer. However, if companies contact us and ask for an update of their offers, we can update them quickly.

How often are the offer selections updated?

We update the selections at different frequencies, as some offers change little during the year. Thus : 

  • Internet, TV and mobile offers are updated every month
  • Credit and energy offers are updated every two months
  • Bank offers are updated every six months
  • Insurance offers are updated once a year

These frequencies are likely to change depending on any exchanges or information partnerships with the companies concerned.

I see a difference between the charges shown and those advertised by the supplier: is this normal?

Yes, this is quite normal. First of all, there may be a delay in updating the information so that the offer presented on this site is not yet up to date.

Also, the items presented in these selections have no contractual value These are simply posted for information purposes based on the publicly available information from the companies concerned. Depending on your situation, you may potentially have to pay more fees. For example:

  • For an Internet subscription : if the provider has to carry out complex wiring in your home, they may have to charge you an installation fee in addition to the basic fee.
  • For a mobile package : you can pay more if you add a phone to your subscription
  • For a bank account : the bank may decide to give you a 'new customer' discount. However, it may also charge you additional fees if you choose to add an option that is not included in the basic package communicated on its website, in its price brochure or on the Luxembourg government's comparators.
  • For a car loan, consumer credit or a home improvement loan: the rates announced are the rates communicated by the banks on their Internet site. These are generally the most attractive rates charged by the bank, for very creditworthy profiles. The rate will then be personalised according to your project, your income, your indebtedness, your profile and your financial situation. 
  • For an energy contract : Prices may vary according to the type of contract (Single, Peak-Off-peak, etc.) and the power of the subscription, which also depends on your electricity meter and therefore on the composition of your household and your consumption volume.
  • For a car or home insurance : The benefits and coverages shown are those publicly displayed by the insurance companies on their websites and in their information leaflets. However, other coverages may be added to your personalised quote, depending on your needs and your discussion with the insurance agent.

Why should I follow your recommendations?

Simply because we like to analyse offers in our spare time, and we want to help. 😊

We are 100% independent. We don't make any money and we have no financial ties with the selected companies. We therefore have no interest in displaying one offer rather than another. We select offers on the basis of objective criteria, including price.

Compare offers in Luxembourg

Banking, Insurance, Telecom, Energy... Compare prices and services easily.
Compare offers
crossmenuchevron-down

Foire aux Questions (FAQ)

Qui est Switchr.lu ? Quelle est la méthodologie utilisée pour les comparatifs ?
Voici la réponse à toutes vos questions !

Pourquoi comparer les offres au Luxembourg ?

Qu'il s'agisse d'Internet, de téléphonie mobile, de contrats d'énergie, de banque ou d'assurance : tout doit être comparé ! Même si les fournisseurs sont peu nombreux au Luxembourg, il peut exister de grandes différences entre leurs offres. Ainsi, comparer les offres vous permet de trouver le meilleur service, le service le moins cher, ou le meilleur rapport qualité-prix.

Aussi, la plupart des contrats luxembourgeois ont des engagements de 12 à 24 mois. Il est donc judicieux de bien les comparer avant de signer.

Qui est Switchr.lu ?

Switchr.lu est un blog animé par des particuliers passionnés du Luxembourg. Nous avons déménagé ici il y a quelques années et avons eu beaucoup de mal à trouver les bons prestataires. Nous avons depuis développé une méthode d'analyse objective pour chaque service. Aujourd'hui, nous souhaitons partager nos sélections sur ce blog, afin d'aider ceux qui s'installent ou qui déménagent à le faire dans les meilleures conditions possibles.

Sur quels critères établissez-vous vos comparatifs ?

Notre philosophie générale : indépendance et neutralité

Nous évaluons les offres sur les mêmes bases, de façon impartiale. Nous ne sommes pas rémunérés et n'avons pas de liens financiers avec les entreprises sélectionnées : cela garantit neutralité et indépendance dans nos sélections.

Méthodologie des sélections

Pour chaque sélection, notre évaluation se base sur des critères objectifs, dont le prix fait partie. Notre méthode d'analyse prend en compte deux critères principaux :

  1. La quantité ou le niveau des fonctionnalités/services proposées dans l'offre, pour un même gamme d'offres (ex: le débit de téléchargement proposé, le volume de données mobiles, le taux de crédit proposé, le nombre de garanties proposées, etc). Ces critères sont factuels et objectifs.
  2. Le prix de l'offre pour une même gamme d'offres. Par "gammes d'offres", nous entendons des offres d'un niveau de prix et de service similaires (exemple : une assurance habitation chère avec de nombreuses garanties sera comparée avec des offres équivalentes en prix et en nombre de garanties). Ces critères sont également factuels et objectifs.

La méthode de calcul est définie à l'avance et a fait l'objet de nombreux tests et ajustements pour chaque service. Elle est la même pour toutes les offres d'un même service (compte bancaire, forfait mobile, contrat d'électricité, abonnement internet, assurance auto, etc).

Dans nos sélections, nous prenons uniquement en compte des éléments objectifs publiquement présentés par les offres commerciales des fournisseurs, et non des éléments subjectifs, tels que des avis, commentaires ou retours d'expérience de clients.

Cela garantit une comparaison objective du rapport qualité-prix de chaque offre, en conformité avec les exigences réglementaires en vigueur.

Sélections d'offres

Notre analyse établit une sélection de trois offres par rubrique.

Dans un souci d'équité, nous proposons plusieurs sélections thématiques. Ainsi, pour la plupart des services, vous retrouverez par exemple les sélections d'offres suivantes :

  1. "Top" : Une sélection d'offres présentant le meilleur rapport qualité-prix entre les fonctionnalités/services proposés et le prix de l'offre.
  2. "Eco" : Une sélection des offres les moins chères pour un service basique.
  3. "Premium" : Une sélection d'offres présentant une gamme de services complète, au meilleur prix.

D'autres types de sélections thématiques peuvent exister en fonction des particularités de chaque service.

Ces sélections thématiques ont deux vertus :

  1. Elles permettent de répondre aux différents besoins des utilisateurs (certains cherchent à faire des économies, d'autres cherchent à avoir l'offre la plus complète, ou le meilleur rapport qualité-prix)
  2. Elles permettent de représenter un maximum de fournisseurs de services au Luxembourg, car certains fournisseurs sont spécialisés dans certains segments de marché (Premium, offres pas chères, etc).

Particularités : les assurances auto et assurances habitation

Pour déterminer la sélection des offres d'assurances auto et habitation, nous prenons en compte :

  1. Le nombre de garanties essentielles ou de base proposées pour chaque contrat (ces garanties sont présentes dans la majorité des contrats d'assurance au Luxembourg)
  2. Le nombre de garanties additionnelles et différenciantes proposées dans chaque contrat (il s'agit des garanties communiquées qui se démarquent de la majorité des offres sur le marché)
  3. Le prix du contrat pour un même bien et un même profil d'assuré, qui permet de cerner le positionnement tarifaire de la compagnie d'assurance pour un type de contrat.

Cette méthode de calcul est unique pour chaque type de contrat (auto, habitation).

Aussi, pour aider l'utilisateur à mieux comprendre et comparer les assurances face au nombre important de couvertures proposées, nous ajoutons les mentions suivantes aux sélections d'offres :

  • Pour l'assurance auto, la "Couverture essentielle" : il s'agit d'un ensemble de garanties que nous estimons, en tant que consommateurs luxembourgeois, essentielles pour une assurance auto au Luxembourg. Le détail de ces garanties est spécifié au bas de chaque rubrique. Cet ensemble de garanties est inclus dans la majorité des contrats d'assurance au Luxembourg, ce qui nous permet de le définir comme "essentiel".
  • Pour toutes les assurances, les "Avantages", également signalés par la mention "Supers Extras". Certaines assurances incluent un nombre important de couvertures additionnelles spécifiques qui les différencient de la concurrence. Nous faisons apparaître la présence de cette différence par la mention "Supers Extras" sur les offres concernées. Les garanties en question peuvent être retrouvées dans la rubrique "Avantages" de chaque offre.

Toutefois, comme le prix des assurances dépend fortement de la nature du bien à assurer, nous ne donnons pas d'indication de prix. Nous affichons seulement une liste non-exhaustive des garanties publiquement présentées par les compagnies d'assurances sur leur site Internet ou dans leurs brochures commerciales. Sur chaque page, nous recommandons à l'utilisateur d'établir plusieurs devis auprès des compagnies d'assurances afin de faire le meilleur choix en fonction de sa situation et de ses priorités (couverture, budget).

Notez que la sélection des contrats d'assurance peut évoluer en fonction de changements commerciaux concernant les offres d'assurance. Elle peut également évoluer en cas d'ajustement dans la méthode d'analyse.

Enfin, nous invitons les compagnies d'assurance à nous signaler toute mise à jour de leurs offres commerciales à l'adresse switchr.lu@gmail.com, afin que nous puissions rapidement mettre à jour nos sélections d'offres.

Quels sont les critères de sélection des offres ?

Nous sélectionnons les offres selon une méthode de calcul basée sur des critères objectifs dont le prix fait partie. Les offres sélectionnées sont différentes selon les sélections et les rubriques (meilleur rapport qualité-prix, meilleure offre la moins chère, offre la plus complète à un prix raisonnable, etc).

Pour chaque offre, nous prenons en compte les éléments suivants :

  • Pour les offres Internet : le débit de téléchargement, le débit d'upload, le prix de l'abonnement, les frais supplémentaires (modem, installation) et une éventuelle promotion tarifaire.
  • Pour les offres Internet et TV : le débit de téléchargement, le débit d'upload, le nombre de chaînes proposées, le nombre d'heures d'enregistrement, le prix de l'abonnement, les frais supplémentaires (modem, installation) et une éventuelle promotion tarifaire.
  • Pour les offres de forfaits mobiles : le volume d'appels au Luxembourg et à l'étranger, le volume de données au Luxembourg et à l'étranger, le prix de l'abonnement et une éventuelle promotion tarifaire.
  • Pour les offres de compte bancaire : les frais de tenue de compte, les frais de carte bancaire, les frais de virements vers des comptes externes, les frais de retraits dans des distributeurs de billets externes, les intérêts de découvert et les commissions de découvert.
  • Pour les offres de crédit (auto, conso, travaux) : le taux d'intérêt (TAEG) proposé.
  • Pour les offres de contrat d'électricité : le prix du kWh d'électricité
  • Pour les offres de contrat gaz : le prix du m³ de gaz
  • Pour les offres d'assurance auto : la présence de "Couvertures essentielles", toute garantie différenciante incluse dans le contrat, le prix de l'assurance pour un même bien
  • Pour les offres d'assurance habitation : la présence des garanties les plus courantes pour une offre d'assurance habitation, toute garantie différenciante supplémentaire incluse dans le contrat, le prix de l'assurance pour un même bien

Comparez-vous l'intégralité des offres du marché ?

Pour des raisons pratiques, ce site n'est pas exhaustif et n'a pas de vocation d'exhaustivité : nous proposons uniquement une sélection d'offres disponibles au Luxembourg. Cet aspect non exhaustif est précisé en haut de chaque rubrique ou tableau par la mention "sélection". Nous choisissons des offres fournies par des entreprises qui ont beaucoup de clients au Luxembourg, ce qui est généralement un gage de sérieux et de solidité de l'entreprise.

Toutefois, il existe d'autres fournisseurs que ceux représentés dans ces sélections. Nous avons l'ambition de les intégrer à nos sélections au fil du temps - selon nos moyens et notre développement.

Aussi, il est possible que certaines offres présentes sur le site soient indisponibles pendant une période allant de quelques heures à quelques jours pour des raisons de maintenance, de mise à jour ou de modification des informations présentées.

Enfin, en raison de l'absence d'API proposées par les fournisseurs au Luxembourg, les offres ne sont pas mises à jour en temps réel : il existe un délai d'actualisation des informations, plus ou moins important selon les offres. Toutefois, si les entreprises nous contactent en nous demandant une actualisation de leurs offres, nous pouvons les mettre à jour rapidement.

Quelle est la fréquence de mise à jour des sélections d'offres ?

Nous mettons à jour les sélections à des fréquences différentes, car certaines offres évoluent peu au cours de l'année. Ainsi : 

  • Les offres Internet, TV et mobile sont mises à jour tous les mois
  • Les offres de crédit et d'énergie sont mises à jour tous les deux mois
  • Les offres de banque sont mises à jour tous les six mois
  • Les offres d'assurances sont mises à jour une fois par an

Ces fréquences sont susceptibles d'évoluer en fonction d'éventuels échanges ou partenariats d'information avec les entreprises concernées.

Je constate une différence entre les frais présentés et ceux annoncés par le fournisseur : est-ce normal ?

Oui, c'est tout à fait normal. Tout d'abord, il peut exister un délai d'actualisation de l'information qui fait que l'offre présentée sur ce site n'est pas encore à jour.

Aussi, les éléments présentés dans ces sélections n'ont pas de valeur contractuelle : ils sont simplement affichés à titre informatifs sur la base des éléments communiqués publiquement par les entreprises concernées. En fonction de votre situation, vous pouvez potentiellement être amené à payer plus de frais. Par exemple :

  • Pour un abonnement Internet : si le fournisseur doit effectuer un câblage complexe dans votre domicile, il peut être amené à vous facturer des frais d'installation, en plus des frais de base.
  • Pour un forfait mobile : vous pouvez payer plus cher si vous ajoutez un téléphone à votre abonnement
  • Pour un compte bancaire : la banque peut décider de vous faire une remise "nouveau client". Mais elle peut aussi vous facturer des frais supplémentaires si vous choisissez d'ajouter une option qui n'est pas comprise dans le pack de base communiqué sur son site Internet, dans sa brochure tarifaire, ou sur les comparateurs de l'Etat luxembourgeois
  • Pour un crédit auto, conso ou un prêt travaux : les taux annoncés sont les taux communiqués par les banques sur leur site Internet. Il s'agit généralement des taux les plus attractifs pratiqués par la banque, pour des profils très solvables. Le taux sera ensuite personnalisé en fonction de votre projet, de vos revenus, de votre endettement, de votre profil et de votre situation financière. 
  • Pour un contrat d'énergie : les prix peuvent évoluer en fonction du type de contrat (Mono, Heure Pleine-Heure Creuse...) et de la puissance de l'abonnement, qui dépend également de votre compteur électrique et donc de la composition de votre ménage et de votre volume de consommation.
  • Pour une assurance auto ou habitation : les garanties et couvertures affichées sont celles qui sont affichées publiquement par les compagnies d'assurance sur leur site Internet et dans leurs notices d'information. Néanmoins, d'autres garanties peuvent être ajoutées à votre devis personnalisé, en fonction de vos besoins et de votre échange avec l'agent d'assurance.

Pourquoi devrais-je suivre vos recommandations ?

Tout simplement parce que nous aimons analyser les offres sur notre temps libre, et que nous voulons aider. 😊

Nous sommes 100% indépendants. Nous ne gagnons pas d'argent et nous n'avons aucun lien financier avec les entreprises sélectionnées. Nous n'avons donc aucun intérêt à afficher une offre plutôt qu'une autre. Nous sélectionnons les offres sur la base de critères objectifs, dont le prix fait partie.

Comparez les offres au Luxembourg

Banque, Assurance, Télécom, Energie... Comparez les prix et services facilement.
Comparer les offres
crossmenuchevron-down