WiFi coverage, fibre: how to improve your Internet speed

17 May 2022
Improving your Wifi and ADSL connection in Luxembourg: Wifi repeater, Internet provider, network failure and subscription.

Have you been experiencing slow Internet connections lately? Would you like to have a bit more speed to enjoy your Netflix series in 4K, or to play online?

To boost your Internet connection, you should first analyse the problems you are experiencing. Then we will suggest some solutions that can improve your speed.

1. The most common Internet speed problems

Most of the time, when you suffer from slowness on your home Internet network, you are faced with these problems:

  1. Wifi doesn't go fast enough
  2. Internet fibre via Ethernet cable is too slow

There are generally three types of problems that can affect the quality of your Internet connection...

A problem with the Internet

In their commercial offers, Internet providers advertise a maximum theoretical upload and download speed. Unfortunately, these theoretical speeds are rarely achieved in practice. If you look closely at the terms and conditions, you will see that some providers commit to providing speeds of 50%, 70% or 90% of the theoretical maximum speed depending on the time of day.

  • Off-peak hours (in the morning and in the afternoon), your speed is normal. For example, it can reach 800 Mbit/sec if you are on fibre with a wired connection.
  • During peak hours (early morning and evening), the throughput may be reduced, due to the large number of simultaneous connections on the network. In this case, your fibre speed may drop to 500 Mbit/s or even 300 Mbit/s. However, this is normalThe speeds are still more than sufficient for normal consumption (watching Netflix series, making video calls or playing video games).

Slowdowns in the Internet are therefore perfectly normal: they simply depend on the number of people using the network at the same time.

In the event of a complete Internet blackout Sometimes some providers or parts of the network may experience localised outages. In this case, wait a few minutes to an hour. Check the network status on a site like DownDetector. If the problem is still not solved, do not hesitate to call your supplier's customer service to find out what the problem is.

A problem with your equipment

Are you experiencing slow Internet speeds on your computer or mobile? Then the problem could be with your equipment. First check :

  1. Your type of connection: are you connected by Ethernet cable or by Wifi?
    1. If you are connected by cable and the Internet is very slow : check whether other devices in your home are using too much bandwidth (e.g. downloading large files). If this is not the case, it may be a simple network slowdown that should be resolved shortly. If the connection is completely interrupted, check your connections, and call your provider's customer service once you have tried everything: it could be a problem with the fibre cabinet in your building.
    2. If you are on Wifi: there may be interference. Your neighbours' Wi-Fi networks can cause interference to your own home Internet network. Some devices transmitting in the same frequency bands can also aggravate this interference.
  2. Your hardware: did you take a normal or high-end modem? In Luxembourg, suppliers offer different types of modems (notably the Fritzbox brand). The more expensive the rental, the better your modem will be, especially in Wifi.

Test your Internet speed

Find out your connection speed in a few seconds.
Test my connection
Test your Internet speed with this free speed test in Luxembourg

A problem with the layout of your home (for WiFi connections)

Wifi is made up of electromagnetic waves that carry information between the modem and your computer or telephone. The further away you are from the modem, the lower your throughput will be. But this is not the only factor: any additional obstacle will reduce the strength of your Wifi signal.

Your Wifi connection could be slowed down by :

  • Walls and partitions: especially large load-bearing walls, which considerably reduce the signal strength!
  • Doors: sometimes a difference can be seen when a door is open or closed
  • Other devices emitting a Wifi signal: Neighbours' networks could alter the power of your network, especially if you are transmitting on the same frequency band

So pay close attention to the layout of your home: the room you use to surf the Internet matters! If you are at the other end of your flat, it is normal that you have a low speed.

2. How to boost your Internet connection

To improve the Wifi Internet speed

Here are some tips on how to improve the strength of your Wi-Fi signal:

  1. Check that there is not too much competition in your frequency band. Modems emit WiFi waves on specific frequency bands. There are about a dozen of them. If too many neighbours use the same frequency band, there can be conflicts and major slowdowns. To solve this problem :
    1. Download an app on your mobile toanalyse the Wifi frequency bands around you. Locate frequencies that are free or infrequently used.
    2. Go to the settings interface of your modem (from your computer) to change the frequency bands. The URL for the modem's administration site is normally found in the original brochure. You should also be aware that some modems automatically set the frequency bands according to the number of competing networks.
    3. If you don't know how to do it, contact your Internet provider He will be able to tell you what to do. Once you are sure that the problem is not with the frequency bands, you can move on...
  2. Make sure your home is fully covered: make a flow test in different parts of your flat, and then locate the rooms where the Internet is particularly slow. This will give you an idea of the Wi-Fi coverage in your home.
  3. Increase the range of the Wi-Fi signal: to increase the strength of your signal, there is nothing like a Wifi repeater installed in a strategic location. This will increase the coverage of the Wi-Fi signal and therefore the speed of your Internet connection. However, there are many repeaters available, and you need to know how to position them correctly. To help you, the French consumer protection organisation has drawn up a list of repeaters. a comparison of the available options.
  4. Change your equipment: If you have determined that the slow connection is partly due to your model, contact your provider to explain the problem. If there are no technical problems, check out the higher-end modems available for rent. This will give you a more powerful Wi-Fi connection.
  5. Change your Internet provider if your slowness or connection problems persist despite your requests to customer service.

Find the best Internet provider

Compare dozens of fibre Internet offers and find the best one!
Compare subscriptions
Test your Internet speed with this free speed test in Luxembourg

To improve your PC Internet connection

If your computer is connected via an Ethernet cable to your modem and you still experience slowness, here are some tips:

  1. Make a flow test to see the problem. If the values are abnormal in relation to the conditions of your Internet subscription, proceed to the next step. However, bear in mind that the speeds advertised on your commercial offer are only theoretical: in practice, download and upload speeds are lower.
  2. Make sure there are no problems with your Ethernet cable Try replacing it with another one and then testing your connection speed again.
  3. If the problem persists, try restarting your modem. If it still doesn't work, try unplugging it, letting it sit for a few minutes, then plugging it back in.
  4. If the problem still persists, contact your supplier: the customer service department will surely be able to help you.
  5. If, despite all your efforts, the problem continues, consider changing your Internet provider. You can probably find a better offer on this comparison.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is the correct Internet speed?

If you have a fibre Internet subscription, a good connection speed would be between 400 and 800 Mb/s (or more) for downloading, and between 200 and 500 Mb/s (or more) for uploading. These speeds vary depending on the number of simultaneous connections in your household and the time of day. Make a Internet speed test to find out your current connection speed.

What is the minimum Internet speed?

There is no real minimum speed: it all depends on the Internet subscription you have chosen, the connection at home and the configuration of your home. As an indication, ADSL subscriptions (which are the weakest) offer speeds of 15 to 20 Mb/s for downloading and 1Mb/s for uploading.

How to get 1gb/s?

It is difficult to achieve download speeds of 1 Gb/s as this is often the theoretical maximum advertised by Internet providers. However, some providers offer 2 Gb/s. It is therefore conceivable that 1 Gb/s can be easily achieved. See our Internet comparison to find these offers.

How to get better Internet access at home?

There are several ways to get better Internet reception: move closer to your Internet box, avoid closing doors or leaving a wall between the box and yourself, and install a Wifi repeater if the network does not cover your entire home. This will extend your network. Ideally, use an Ethernet cable between the modem and your computer to get the best possible speed.

Why is my Internet speed insufficient?

There are several reasons why your speed may be too slow: it may be a temporary network failure, a problem with your equipment (modem, cables) or a problem with the configuration of your home. Study these 3 parameters to make sure you can improve your Internet speed.

How can I increase the speed of my Wi-Fi?

Choose a different frequency band than the one you are currently using. Most of the time, speed problems are caused by an overload of different networks (you, your neighbours) on the same frequency band. This is especially the case when you live in a flat. You should therefore set your modem to transmit on less saturated frequencies. To do this, refer to your modem's manual, or contact your Internet provider.

You may be interested in these articles

10 June 2022
Internet speed: the ranking of providers in Luxembourg

Download speed, connection stability, subscription prices: here is a comparison of the main Internet operators in Luxembourg.

Read the article
8 June 2022
Internet speed test: what is your Wifi, Fibre or ADSL connection speed?

Want to know how fast your Internet connection is? Here is a free speed test to measure your bandwidth.

Read the article
7 June 2022
The cost of installing fibre Internet in Luxembourg

Some Luxembourgers find out that their first Internet bill will cost them more than €300. How to avoid these fibre installation costs?

Read the article
4 June 2022
Ranking: the municipalities with the best Internet connection in Luxembourg

In this ranking, we compare download, upload and latency speeds in different cities in Luxembourg. Here are the results...

Read the article
26 May 2022
Internet network problem, network breakdown: what to do?

Are you experiencing an Internet problem on your home line? Here are the steps to follow to diagnose and solve your problem.

Read the article
crossmenuchevron-down

Couverture WiFi, fibre : comment améliorer son débit Internet

17 mai 2022
Améliorer sa connexion Wifi Fibre et ADSL au Luxembourg : répétiteur Wifi, fournisseur Internet, panne réseau et abonnement.

Vous rencontrez quelques lenteurs sur votre connexion Internet depuis peu ? Vous aimeriez avoir un peu plus de débit pour profiter de vos séries Netflix en 4K, ou jouer en ligne ?

Pour booster votre connexion Internet, vous devrez d'abord analyser les problèmes rencontrés. Ensuite, nous vous proposerons quelques solutions qui peuvent améliorer votre débit.

1. Les problèmes de débit Internet les plus courants

La plupart du temps, quand on souffre de lenteurs sur son réseau Internet domestique, on se retrouve face à ces problèmes :

  1. Le Wifi ne va pas assez vite
  2. La fibre Internet par câble Ethernet est trop lente

Il y a en général trois types de problèmes qui peuvent affecter la qualité de votre connexion Internet...

Un problème avec le réseau Internet

Dans leurs offres commerciales, les fournisseurs Internet annoncent un débit théorique maximum de réception et d'envoi. Malheureusement, ces débits théoriques sont rarement atteints dans la pratique. En fouillant bien dans les conditions de vente, on se rend compte que certains fournisseurs s'engagent à fournir des débits de 50%, 70% ou 90% du débit maximum théorique en fonction des heures de la journée.

  • En heures creuses (dans la matinée et dans l'après-midi), votre débit est normal. Il peut par exemple atteindre 800 Mbit/sec si vous êtes en fibre avec une connexion filaire.
  • En heures de pointe (tôt le matin et le soir), le débit peut être réduit, à cause du nombre important de connexions simultanées sur le réseau. Dans ce cas, votre débit en fibre peut descendre à 500 Mbit/s voire 300 Mbit/s. C'est toutefois normal, et les vitesses restent largement suffisantes pour une consommation normale (regarder des séries Netflix, passer des appels vidéo ou jouer aux jeux vidéos).

Les ralentissements occasionnés par le réseau Internet sont donc tout à fait normaux : ils dépendent simplement du nombre de personnes qui utilisent le réseau en même temps.

En cas de coupure complète d'Internet : Parfois, certains fournisseurs ou certaines parties du réseau peuvent rencontrer des pannes localisées. Dans ce cas, attendez quelques minutes à une heure. Vérifiez l'état du réseau sur un site comme DownDetector. Si le problème n'est toujours pas résolu, n'hésitez pas à appeler le service client de votre fournisseur pour savoir d'où vient le problème.

Un problème lié à votre matériel

Vous rencontrez des lenteurs Internet sur votre ordinateur ou votre mobile ? Dans ce cas, le problème pourrait venir de vos équipements. Vérifiez d'abord :

  1. Votre type de connexion : êtes-vous connecté par câble Ethernet ou par Wifi ?
    1. Si vous êtes connecté par câble et qu'Internet est très lent : vérifiez si d'autres appareils chez vous n'utilisent pas trop de bande passante (en téléchargeant de gros fichiers par exemple). Si ce n'est pas le cas, il peut s'agir d'un simple ralentissement sur le réseau qui devrait être résolu sous peu. En cas d'interruption totale de la connexion, vérifiez vos branchements, et appelez le service client de votre fournisseur une fois que vous avez tout essayé : il pourrait s'agir d'un problème au niveau de l'armoire fibre de votre immeuble.
    2. Si vous êtes en Wifi : il peut y avoir des interférences. Les réseaux Wifi de vos voisins peuvent causer des perturbations sur votre propre réseau Internet domestique. Certains appareils émettant dans les mêmes bandes de fréquences peuvent également aggraver ces perturbations.
  2. Votre matériel : avez-vous pris un modem normal ou haut de gamme ? Au Luxembourg, les fournisseurs proposent différents types de modems (notamment de la marque Fritzbox). Plus la location est chère, plus votre modem sera performant, notamment en Wifi.

Testez votre débit Internet

Découvrez votre vitesse de connexion en quelques secondes.
Tester ma connexion
Testez votre vitesse de connexion Internet avec ce test débit gratuit au Luxembourg

Un problème lié à la disposition de votre logement (pour les connexions Wifi)

Le Wifi est composé d'ondes électromagnétiques qui transportent une information entre le modem et votre ordinateur ou téléphone. Plus vous êtes loin du modem, plus votre débit sera faible. Mais ce n'est pas le seul facteur : tout obstacle supplémentaire réduira la puissance de votre signal Wifi.

Votre connexion Wifi pourrait ainsi être ralentie par :

  • Les murs et cloisons : notamment les gros murs porteurs, qui réduisent considérablement la puissance du signal !
  • Les portes : on peut parfois observer une différence lorsqu'une porte est ouverte ou fermée
  • D'autres appareils émettant un signal Wifi : les réseaux des voisins pourraient altérer la puissance du vôtre, notamment si vous émettez sur la même bande de fréquences

Soyez donc bien attentif à la disposition de votre logement : la pièce que vous utilisez pour surfer sur Internet a une importance ! Si vous êtes à l'autre bout de votre appartement, il est normal que vous ayez un débit faible.

2. Comment booster sa connexion Internet

Pour améliorer le débit Internet Wifi

Voici quelques astuces pour améliorer la puissance de votre signal Wifi :

  1. Vérifiez qu'il n'y a pas trop de concurrence sur votre bande de fréquences. Les modems émettent des ondes Wifi sur des bandes de fréquences spécifiques. Il y en a une douzaine. Si trop de voisins utilisent la même bande de fréquences, il peut y avoir des conflits et d'importants ralentissements. Pour régler ce problème :
    1. Téléchargez une appli sur votre mobile permettant d'analyser les bandes de fréquences Wifi autour de vous. Repérez les fréquences qui sont libres ou peu utilisées.
    2. Rendez-vous sur l'interface de paramétrage de votre modem (depuis votre ordinateur) afin de changer les bandes de fréquence. L'URL du site d'administration du modem se trouve normalement dans la brochure d'origine. Sachez également que certains modems paramètrent automatiquement les bandes de fréquence en fonction du nombre de réseaux concurrents.
    3. Si vous ne savez pas comment faire, contactez votre fournisseur Internet : il saura vous indiquer la procédure à suivre. Une fois que vous êtes certain que le problème ne vient pas des bandes de fréquences, vous pouvez passer à la suite...
  2. Assurez-vous d'une couverture complète de votre logement : faites un test de débit à différents endroits de votre appartement, puis repérez les pièces où Internet est particulièrement lent. Cela vous donnera une idée de la couverture Wifi dans votre domicile.
  3. Augmentez la portée du signal Wifi : pour augmenter la puissance de votre signal, rien de tel qu'un répéteur Wifi installé à un endroit stratégique. Celui-ci augmentera la couverture du signal Wifi et donc la vitesse de votre connexion Internet. Toutefois, il existe de nombreux répéteurs, et il faut savoir bien les positionner. Pour vous aider, l'organisme de défense des consommateurs en France a fait un comparatif des options disponibles.
  4. Changez de matériel : si vous avez déterminé que la lenteur de la connexion venait en partie de votre model, contactez votre fournisseur pour lui expliquer votre problème. S'il n'y a aucun problème technique, renseignez-vous sur les modèles supérieurs de modems disponibles à la location. Vous aurez ainsi une connexion Wifi plus puissante.
  5. Changez de fournisseur Internet si vos lenteurs ou problèmes de connexion persistent malgré vos demandes auprès du service client.

Trouvez le meilleur fournisseur Internet

Comparez des dizaines d'offres de fibre Internet et trouvez la meilleure !
Comparer les abonnements
Testez votre vitesse de connexion Internet avec ce test débit gratuit au Luxembourg

Pour améliorer sa connexion Internet PC

Si votre ordinateur est relié par un câble Ethernet à votre modem et que vous constatez malgré tout des lenteurs, voici quelques conseils :

  1. Faites un test de débit pour constater le problème. Si les valeurs sont anormales par rapport aux conditions de votre abonnement Internet, procédez à l'étape suivante. Toutefois, gardez bien en tête que les débits annoncés sur votre offre commerciale ne sont que des débits théoriques : dans la pratique, les vitesses de téléchargement et d'envoi sont moins élevées.
  2. Assurez-vous qu'il n'y a aucun problème avec votre câble Ethernet : essayez de le remplacer par un autre puis testez à nouveau votre vitesse de connexion.
  3. Si le problème persiste, tentez de redémarrer votre modem. Si cela ne fonctionne toujours pas, essayez de le débrancher, laissez reposer quelques minutes, puis rebranchez-le.
  4. Si le problème persiste encore, contactez votre fournisseur : le service client pourra sûrement vous aider.
  5. Si malgré toutes vos démarches, le problème continue, pensez à changer de fournisseur Internet. Vous pourrez sûrement trouver une meilleure offre sur ce comparatif.

Foire Aux Questions (FAQ)

Quel est le débit Internet correct ?

Si vous avez un abonnement fibre Internet, une bonne vitesse de connexion serait comprise entre 400 et 800 Mb/s (voire plus) en téléchargement, et entre 200 et 500 Mb/s (ou plus) en envoi. Ces débits varient selon le nombre de connexions simultanées dans votre foyer, et en fonction de l'heure de la journée. Faites un test de débit Internet pour connaître votre vitesse de connexion actuelle.

Quel débit Internet minimum ?

Il n'y a pas vraiment de débit minimum : tout dépend de l'abonnement Internet que vous avez choisi, du raccordement chez vous et de la configuration de votre logement. A titre indicatif, les abonnements ADSL (qui sont les plus faibles) proposent des vitesses de 15 à 20 Mb/s en téléchargement et 1Mb/s en envoi.

Comment avoir 1gb/s ?

Il est difficile d'atteindre des vitesses de téléchargement de 1 Gb/s puisqu'il s'agit souvent du maximum théorique annoncé par les fournisseurs Internet. Néanmoins, certains fournisseurs proposent des offres à 2 Gb/s. On peut donc imaginer atteindre facilement les 1 Gb/s. Consultez notre comparatif des offres Internet pour trouver ces offres.

Comment mieux capter Internet chez soi ?

Pour mieux capter Internet, il y a plusieurs solutions : rapprochez-vous de votre box Internet, évitez de fermer les portes ou de laisser un mur entre la box et vous-même, et installez un répéteur Wifi si le réseau ne couvre pas l'intégralité de votre logement. Votre réseau sera ainsi étendu. Idéalement, utilisez un câble Ethernet entre le modem et votre ordinateur pour avoir le meilleur débit possible.

Pourquoi mon débit Internet est-il insuffisant ?

Plusieurs raisons expliquent pourquoi votre débit peut être trop lent : il peut s'agir d'une panne temporaire sur le réseau, d'un problème avec votre équipement (modem, câbles) ou d'un souci lié à la configuration de votre logement. Étudiez ces 3 paramètres pour être sûr de pouvoir améliorer votre débit Internet.

Comment augmenter la vitesse de mon Wi-Fi ?

Choisissez une bande fréquence différente que celle que vous utilisez actuellement. La plupart du temps, les problèmes de vitesse viennent d'une surcharge de réseaux différents (vous, vos voisins) sur la même bande de fréquences. C'est notamment le cas quand on vit en appartement. Vous devrez donc paramétrer votre modem pour qu'il émette sur des fréquences moins saturées. Pour ce faire, référez-vous au manuel de votre modem, ou contactez votre fournisseur Internet.

Ces articles pourraient vous intéresser

10 juin 2022
Vitesse Internet : le classement des fournisseurs au Luxembourg

Vitesse de téléchargement, stabilité de la connexion, prix des abonnements : voici un comparatif des principaux opérateurs Internet au Luxembourg.

Lire l'article
8 juin 2022
Test débit Internet : quelle est votre vitesse de connexion Wifi, Fibre ou ADSL ?

Vous souhaitez savoir quelle est votre vitesse de connexion Internet ? Voici un test débit gratuit pour mesurer votre bande passante.

Lire l'article
7 juin 2022
Les frais d'installation de la fibre Internet au Luxembourg

Certains luxembourgeois découvrent plus de 300€ sur leur première facture Internet. Comment éviter ces frais d'installation de la fibre ?

Lire l'article
4 juin 2022
Classement : les communes qui ont la meilleure connexion Internet au Luxembourg

Dans ce classement, nous comparons les vitesses de téléchargement, d'envoi et la latence dans différentes villes du Luxembourg. Voici le résultat...

Lire l'article
26 mai 2022
Problème réseau Internet, panne réseau : que faire ?

Vous rencontrez un problème Internet sur votre ligne domestique ? Voici les étapes à suivre pour diagnostiquer et résoudre votre problème.

Lire l'article
crossmenuchevron-down