Home insurance: what to do in the event of a home disaster?

29 March 2022
water damage, flooding, fire, theft, burglary

Have you just returned from holiday and noticed water seepage in your home? Or worse: someone has broken into your home and stolen your valuables?

Here is a guide to what to do in the event of a home disaster so that you can easily get a refund from your insurance company.

1. Record the damage and describe it accurately

Natural disasters, floods, water damage, electrical damage: disasters can happen overnight and cause a lot of damage to your flat or house.

In all claims, speed is the key The more you show that you are responsive, the more likely the insurance company will be to reimburse you quickly and to believe your good faith. If you take your time, the insurer may doubt your good faith. So don't waste your time.

As soon as you notice any damage in your flat:

  1. Take pictures of the damage with your phone (or any other camera). Don't forget any details. Remember to vary the angles: take some close-up photos, and some zoomed-in photos.
  2. Take action: This will help the insurance company to determine the extent of the damage. Take a measuring tape and measure the extent of the damage (e.g. the size of the puddle in case of flooding, the extent of the mouldy surface on the wall in case of seepage, etc.).
  3. List all damage on a document unique. Make a table indicating on each line :
    1. The room in the dwelling concerned by the damage (living room, kitchen, master bedroom, bathroom, etc.)
    2. The nature of the damage (puddles, mould, cracks...)
    3. The location of the damage (East wall, ceiling, floor near the window...)
    4. The extent of the damage (puddle of 50cm by 1m, mould of 20cm by 30cm, crack of 15cm high located at 1m from the ground, etc).

This will provide you with a complete and accurate document that you can present to your insurance company. The accuracy and clarity of the information will enable your insurance company to reimburse you more quickly for the damage suffered.

You can send this document the next day to prove your good faith, but first you need to define the type of disaster you have suffered and the type of cover and reimbursement you are entitled to.

Important: In the event of theft, burglary or break-in at home (broken door, broken window): contact the police immediately (113). The police can come to your home to assess the damage and take fingerprints to identify the thieves.

2. Define the type of home loss suffered

In order to determine what cover you are entitled to, you need to be able to identify the nature of the loss you have suffered and whether it is covered by your insurance.

First of all, determine the nature of the disaster among these categories generally covered by Luxembourg insurance:

  • Water damage : This refers to any type of damage caused by water infiltration (from a neighbouring flat or from the ground) or a burst pipe (drinking water, toilet, heating). If you notice mould along a wall or a large puddle in your home, your damage is probably related to water damage. In this case, consult your neighbours to find out whether they have a leak in their home in order to better assess the damage.
  • Theft or burglary : This is the most obvious one to qualify. In the case of a theft or burglary, someone has broken into your home and stolen your valuables (jewellery, electronic devices, multimedia, computers, smartphones, games consoles, television sets, etc.). Please note: for the loss to be covered by your insurance, there must be clear and obvious signs of a break-in: such as a broken door or broken windows. Take pictures of these signs to prove that it was a burglary. And always remember to lock your windows and front door when you leave your home.
  • Electrical damage : It is one of the most complicated claims to prove. Usually, many of your electronic devices will not turn on. If your TV has broken down, try turning on the appliances that were plugged in at the same time to see if it could be electrical damage. For example, try turning on your speaker, oven or washing machine. Next, ask your neighbours if they too are having problems with their appliances. If you have determined that other appliances and other residents are experiencing the same problem, it is probably electrical damage. The insurer will then contact the electricity supplier to find out if there were any power surges on the network.
  • Fire Like theft or burglary, fire is quickly determined. In most cases you will need to call the fire brigade who will come to the scene to put out the fire and make a damage report. The insurance will take over the claim from there.
  • Flooding : Flood damage is quite complicated. It should not be confused with water damage (due to seepage or burst pipes). Floods are the consequences of unusual climatic events: for example, torrential rains causing a stream to overflow in front of your home, resulting in flooding at your home or in your garage. Be aware that some insurance policies do not cover all flooding: some damage, such as overflowing pipes or sewage, is usually not covered.
  • Storms and hail : This includes all damage related to wind force (such as a tree falling on your house, outdoor furniture or a wall) and hail (if you notice impacts on your windows for example). Episodes of strong winds or hail are known and recorded by all Luxembourg weather platforms and media: it is therefore very easy to prove that a storm has caused the damage suffered.
  • Natural disasters : The state of natural disaster can only be declared by the Luxembourg State. This was the case during the floods in the summer of 2021 The Grand Duchy declared a state of natural disaster in view of the extent of the damage. This is the easiest disaster to prove since it is officially recognised by the public authorities. In the event of a natural disaster, insurance companies reimburse damages very easily. They can even offer you rehousing and reimbursement of cleaning work easily.

Find the best home insurance

Compare dozens of offers in Luxembourg and find the best cover.
Compare insurance
Compare all Internet, TV and mobile deals in Luxembourg

3. Ensure that the disaster is covered by insurance

Before making your claim to the insurance company, make sure you are well covered against this risk. Otherwise, you may be disappointed with the insurer's response.

  • Read your insurance contract carefully (which should be in your mailbox) and check the claims covered.
  • If you cannot find your contract : ask your insurer. Call him or write him an e-mail, explain the situation. He will be able to answer you quickly.

Once you have determined the nature of the loss suffered, and if the loss is covered by your insurance, send an email to your insurer containing :

  • The document you drew up with the list of damages and precise measurements
  • Photos of the damage (attached)
  • Purchase invoices for damaged equipment and objects. If you no longer have the invoices, indicate the approximate value of the damaged items (you can find it by doing a purchase search on Google or Amazon)
  • A copy of your complaint to the policein case of theft or burglary in your flat or house

Namely, in the event of damage to the decency of your home.

If you have no electricity, no hot water, no heating or broken windows, you can ask to be rehoused while your accommodation is being restored. However, before booking a hotel room, call your insurance company and explain the situation. There are two options:

  • Either your insurance has a group of partner hotels: In this case, it will ask you to book a room in one of the hotels in its network. It will pay for the night's accommodation directly, since the insurance company has signed an agreement with the hotel to regulate the rates.
  • Either your insurance company does not have a hotel to recommend: in this case, ask them for the amount per night they reimburse. In general, this varies between 100€ and 120€ per night and per room. Once you have this information, you can make your reservations. Remember not to book too many nights: the insurance company will not reimburse you for any nights after your accommodation has been repaired.

If you don't follow these steps, the insurance company may refuse to reimburse you for your hotel nights. There are plenty of stories of Luxembourgers booking nights for 200€ or 300€ without having asked for the package reimbursed by their insurance. As a result, they are never fully reimbursed.

4. If you have a bad experience: change your insurance

In Luxembourg, there are very large differences between insurance companies. Some are known to cover very few risks, while others are known to offer very comprehensive cover. This is linked to the fact that there is little competition between insurers: they have no incentive to improve their prices or their guarantees.

If you haven't really compared insurance policies when you arrive in Luxembourg, you may be in for a nasty surprise when you make a claim, as some policies do not cover :

  • flood risks
  • theft or burglary
  • electrical damage
  • goods located outside your home (on your terrace or in your garden)

Fortunately, it is not too late to change your insurance. If you want to compare all coverages, you can do so by visiting this ranking of the best home insurance policies in Luxembourg.

Finally, to find out when and how to cancel your insurance in Luxembourg, see this article.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is an insurance disaster?

A disaster is an event beyond your control that causes you damage. If you suffer a loss, you can claim from your insurance company. However, this depends on the cover provided by your insurance contract.

What to do in the event of a home loss?

First of all: don't panic! Be methodical. If it is a theft or a burglary, call the police immediately, who will come to your home. If it is another incident (water damage, flooding, fire, electrical damage): take photos, measure the extent of the damage, describe the damage, add the purchase invoices for the damaged objects, and send this file to your insurance company. They may offer you a refund if this type of damage is covered by your policy.

What are the types of claims?

In the context of home insurance, there are several types of claims: water damage (the most common), theft and burglary, floods, fire, storms and hail, electrical damage, natural disasters and glass breakage. Not all losses are covered by all insurance policies. That is why it is important to compare them before signing a home insurance contract.

You may be interested in these articles

5 June 2022
How to cancel your insurance in Luxembourg?

Home Insurance, Car Insurance... Here's how to send a Cancellation Letter to your insurer, and how to find a cheaper Insurance.

Read the article
crossmenuchevron-down

Assurance Habitation : que faire en cas de sinistre dans son logement ?

29 mars 2022
sinistre habitation assurance démarches que faire luxembourg - dégât des eaux, inondation, incendie, vol, cambriolage

Vous venez de rentrer de vacances et vous remarquez une infiltration d'eau chez vous ? Ou pire : quelqu'un s'est introduit dans votre domicile et vous a volé des objets de valeur ?

Voici le guide des démarches à faire en cas de sinistre habitation afin d'obtenir un remboursement facilement de la part de votre assurance.

1. Constater les dégâts et les décrire précisément

Catastrophe naturelle, inondations, dégât des eaux, dégâts électriques : les sinistres peuvent arriver du jour au lendemain et causer beaucoup de dégâts dans votre appartement ou votre maison.

Dans tous les sinistres, la rapidité est la clé : plus vous montrerez que vous êtes réactif, plus l'assurance sera encline à vous rembourser rapidement et à croire votre bonne foi. Si vous prenez votre temps, l'assureur pourra douter de votre bonne foi. Ne perdez donc pas votre temps.

Dès que vous constatez le moindre dégât dans votre appartement :

  1. Prenez des photos des dommages avec votre téléphone (ou tout autre appareil photo). N'oubliez aucun détail. Pensez aussi à varier les angles : prenez des photos en gros plan, et d'autres photos zoomées.
  2. Prenez des mesures : cela sera utile à l'assurance pour déterminer l'ampleur des dégâts. Prenez un mètre et mesurez l'étendue des dégâts (exemple : la taille de la flaque d'eau en cas d'inondation, l'étendue de la surface moisie sur le mur en cas d'infiltration, etc).
  3. Répertoriez tous les dégâts sur un document unique. Faites un tableau en indiquant sur chaque ligne :
    1. La pièce du logement concernée par le dégât (salon, cuisine, chambre parentale, salle de bains...)
    2. La nature du dommage (flaque d'eau, moisi, fissure...)
    3. La localisation du dégât (mur Est, plafond, sol près de la fenêtre...)
    4. L'étendue des dommages (flaque de 50cm sur 1m, moisi de 20cm sur 30cm, fissure de 15cm de haut située à 1m du sol, etc).

Vous aurez ainsi un document complet et précis que vous pourrez présenter à votre compagnie d'assurance. La précision et la clarté des informations permettra à votre assurance de vous rembourser plus rapidement pour le dommage subi.

Vous pourrez envoyer ce document le lendemain pour prouver votre bonne foi, mais avant, il faudra définir le type de sinistre que vous avez subi et le type de couverture et de remboursement auquel vous aurez droit.

Important : en cas de vol, de cambriolage, ou d'effraction dans votre domicile (porte cassée, vitre brisée) : contactez immédiatement la police (113). Les services de police pourront se déplacer chez vous pour dresser un état des lieux des dommages subis et procéder à des relevés d'empreinte pour identifier les voleurs.

2. Définir le type de sinistre habitation subi

Afin de déterminer la couverture à laquelle vous pouvez prétendre, il faut pouvoir qualifier la nature du sinistre que vous avez subi, et savoir si celui-ci est couvert par votre assurance.

Déterminez tout d'abord la nature du sinistre parmi ces catégories généralement couvertes par les assurances luxembourgeoises :

  • Dégât des eaux : il s'agit de tout type de dégât lié à une infiltration d'eau (venant d'un appartement voisin ou du sol) ou à une rupture de canalisation (eau potable, toilettes, chauffage). Si vous constatez du moisi le long d'un mur, ou une grande flaque d'eau chez vous, votre dommage est sûrement lié à un dégât des eaux. Dans ce cas, consultez vos voisins pour savoir s'ils n'ont pas également une fuite chez eux afin de mieux qualifier votre sinistre.
  • Vol ou cambriolage : C'est le plus évident à qualifier. Dans le cas d'un vol ou d'un cambriolage, quelqu'un s'est introduit chez vous et a volé vos objets de valeur (bijoux, appareils électroniques, multimédia, ordinateurs, smartphones, consoles de jeu, téléviseur...). Attention : pour que le sinistre soit couvert par votre assurance, il faut qu'il y ait des traces d'effraction claire et évidentes : comme une porte défoncée ou des vitres brisées. Prenez bien en photos ce genre de signes pour prouver qu'il s'agit d'un cambriolage. Et pensez à toujours bien fermer vos fenêtres et votre porte d'entrée lorsque vous quittez votre domicile.
  • Dégât électrique : c'est un des sinistres les plus compliqués à prouver. Généralement, plusieurs de vos appareils électroniques ne s'allument plus. Si votre téléviseur est en panne, essayez d'allumer les appareils qui étaient branchés au même moment pour voir si cela peut être un dégât électrique. Tentez par exemple d'allumer votre enceinte, votre four ou votre machine à laver. Ensuite, renseignez-vous auprès de vos voisins pour savoir s'ils ont, eux aussi, des problèmes avec leur électroménager. Si vous avez déterminé que d'autres appareils et d'autres habitants rencontrent le même problème : il s'agit sans doute d'un dégât électrique. L'assureur se rapprochera ensuite du fournisseur d'électricité pour savoir s'il y a eu des surtensions sur le réseau.
  • Incendie : comme le vol ou le cambriolage, l'incendie est rapidement déterminé. Dans la plupart des cas, vous devrez appeler les pompiers qui viendront sur place pour éteindre l'incendie et établir un rapport des dommages. L'assurance prendra en charge le sinistre à partir de là.
  • Inondations : les dommages liés aux inondations sont assez compliqués. Il ne faut pas les confondre avec les dégâts des eaux (liés à des infiltrations ou ruptures de canalisation). Les inondations sont les conséquences d'événements climatiques inhabituels : il s'agit par exemple de pluies torrentielles causant un débordement du ruisseau face à votre logement, et donc une inondation chez vous ou dans votre garage. Sachez que certaines assurances ne couvrent pas l'intégralité des inondations : certains dommages, comme les débordements de canalisations ou d'eaux usées ne sont généralement pas pris en charge.
  • Tempêtes et grêle : il s'agit de tous les dommages liés à la force du vent (comme un arbre tombé sur votre maison, sur un meuble extérieur ou sur un mur) et à la grêle (si vous constatez impacts sur vos vitres par exemple). Les épisodes de forts vents ou de grêle sont connus et enregistrés par toutes les plateformes météorologiques et médias luxembourgeois : il est donc très facile de prouver qu'une tempête a causé les dommages subis.
  • Catastrophes naturelles : l'état de catastrophe naturelle peut uniquement être déclaré par l'État luxembourgeois. C'était le cas lors des inondations de l'été 2021 : face à l'ampleur des dégâts, le Grand-Duché avait déclaré l'état de catastrophe naturelle. C'est le sinistre le plus facile à prouver puisqu'il est reconnu officiellement par la puissance publique. Dans les cas de catastrophe naturelle, les assurances remboursent très facilement les sinistres. Elles peuvent même vous proposer un relogement et un remboursement des travaux de nettoyage facilement.

Trouvez la meilleure assurance habitation

Comparez des dizaines d'offres au Luxembourg, et trouvez la meilleure couverture.
Comparer les assurances
Compare all Internet, TV and mobile deals in Luxembourg

3. S'assurer que le sinistre est couvert par l'assurance

Avant de faire votre demande de remboursement à l'assurance, assurez-vous d'être bien couvert contre ce risque. Sinon, vous pourriez être déçu de la réponse de l'assureur.

  • Lisez attentivement votre contrat d'assurance (qui doit se trouver dans votre boîte mail) et vérifiez les sinistres couverts.
  • Si vous ne retrouvez pas votre contrat : posez la question à votre assureur. Appelez-le ou écrivez-lui un mail, expliquez la situation. Il saura vous répondre rapidement.

Une fois que vous avez déterminé la nature du sinistre subi, et si le sinistre est couvert par votre assurance, adressez par mail à votre assureur contenant :

  • Le document que vous avez établi avec la liste des dommages et les mesures précises
  • Les photos des dommages subis (en pièce-jointe)
  • Les factures d'achat des appareils et objets endommagés. Si vous n'avez plus les factures, indiquez la valeur approximative des objets endommagés (vous pourrez la retrouver en faisant une recherche d'achat sur Google ou Amazon)
  • La copie de votre plainte déposée à la police, en cas de vol ou de cambriolage dans votre appartement ou votre maison

A savoir en cas de dommage portant atteinte à la décence de votre logement.

Si vous n'avez plus d'électricité, plus d'eau chaude, plus de chauffage ou des vitres brisées, sachez que vous pouvez demander à être relogé en attendant la remise en état de votre logement. Toutefois, avant de réserver une chambre d'hôtel, appelez votre assurance et expliquez-lui la situation. Il y a deux solutions :

  • Soit votre assurance a un groupe d'hôteliers partenaires : auquel cas, elle vous demandera de réserver une chambre dans l'un des hôtels de son réseau. Elle prendra en charge la nuitée directement, puisque l'assurance a signé une convention avec l'hôtel pour encadrer les tarifs.
  • Soit votre assurance n'a pas d'hôtel particulier à vous recommander : dans ce cas, demandez-lui le forfait par nuit qu'elle rembourse. En général, celui-ci varie en 100€ et 120€ par nuit et par chambre. Une fois que vous avez cette information, vous pourrez faire vos réservations. Pensez à ne pas réserver trop de nuits : l'assurance ne vous remboursera pas les nuits postérieures à la remise en état de votre logement.

Si vous ne suivez pas ces étapes, l'assurance pourrait vous refuser le remboursement de vos nuits d'hôtels. Il y a plein d'histoires de luxembourgeois réservant des nuits à 200€ ou 300€ sans avoir demandé le forfait remboursé par leur assurance. Résultat : les frais ne leur sont jamais totalement remboursés.

4. En cas de mauvaise expérience : changez d'assurance

Au Luxembourg, il existe de très fortes disparités entre les assurances. Certaines sont réputées pour couvrir très peu de risques, et d'autres sont connues pour proposer des couvertures très complètes. C'est lié au fait qu'il y a peu de concurrence entre les assureurs : ceux-ci ne sont pas incités à améliorer leur prix ni leurs garanties.

Si vous n'avez pas vraiment comparé les assurances en arrivant au Luxembourg, vous pourriez avoir une mauvaise surprise au moment d'un sinistre, car certaines assurances ne couvrent pas :

  • les risques d'inondations
  • les vols ou cambriolages
  • les dégâts électriques
  • les biens situés à l'extérieur de votre logement (sur votre terrasse ou dans votre jardin)

Heureusement, il n'est pas trop tard pour changer d'assurance. Si vous souhaitez comparer toutes les couvertures, vous pouvez le faire en consultant ce classement des meilleures assurances habitation au Luxembourg.

Enfin, pour savoir quand et comment résilier votre assurance au Luxembourg, consultez cet article.

Foire Aux Questions (FAQ)

C'est quoi un sinistre en assurance ?

Un sinistre est un événement indépendant de votre volonté qui vous cause des dommages. Si vous êtes victime d'un sinistre, vous pouvez demander un remboursement à votre assurance. Toutefois, cela dépend de la couverture prévue par votre contrat d'assurance.

Que faire en cas de sinistre habitation ?

Tout d'abord : ne paniquez pas ! Soyez méthodique. S'il s'agit d'un vol ou d'un cambriolage, appelez tout de suite la police, qui viendra chez vous. S'il s'agit d'un autre sinistre (dégât des eaux, inondations, incendie, dégât électrique) : prenez des photos, mesurez l'étendue des dégâts, décrivez les dégâts, ajoutez les factures d'achat des objets endommagés, et envoyez ce dossier à votre assurance. Elle pourra vous proposer un remboursement si ce type de sinistre est couvert par votre contrat.

Quels sont les types de sinistre ?

Dans le cadre d'une assurance habitation, on compte plusieurs types de sinistres : les dégâts des eaux (les plus courants), les vols et cambriolages, les inondations, les incendies, les tempêtes et grêles, les dégâts électriques, les catastrophes naturelles et les bris de glace. Tous les sinistres ne sont pas couverts par toutes les assurances. C'est pourquoi il est important de les comparer avant de signer un contrat d'assurance habitation.

Ces articles pourraient vous intéresser

5 juin 2022
Comment résilier son assurance au Luxembourg ?

Assurance Habitation, Assurance Auto... Voici comment envoyer une Lettre de Résiliation à votre assureur, et comment trouver une Assurance moins chère.

Lire l'article
crossmenuchevron-down